Articles by GVC Staff

Today in history – March 23, 2018

1775 – Patrick Henry voices American opposition to British policy http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/patrick-henry-voices-american-opposition-to-british-policy 1806 – Lewis and Clark depart Fort Clatsop http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/lewis-and-clark-depart-fort-clatsop 1937 – Craig Breedlove, land-speed…


Today in history – March 22, 2018

1894 – First Stanley Cup championship played http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-stanley-cup-championship-played 1947 – Truman orders loyalty checks of federal employees http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/truman-orders-loyalty-checks-of-federal-employees 1972 – Equal Rights Amendment passed by…


Today in history – March 21, 2018

1932 – Series of tornadoes hits Southeast U.S. http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/series-of-tornadoes-hits-southeast-u-s 1960 – Formula One champ Ayrton Senna born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/formula-one-champ-ayrton-senna-born 1963 – Alcatraz closes its doors http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/alcatraz-closes-its-doors…


Today in history – March 20, 2018

1345 – Black Death is created, allegedly http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/black-death-is-created-allegedly 1852 – Uncle Tom’s Cabin is published http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/uncle-toms-cabin-is-published 1854 – Republican Party founded http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/republican-party-founded 1934 – Babe…


Today in history – March 19, 2018

1931 – Nevada legalizes gambling http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/nevada-legalizes-gambling 1945- General Fromm executed for plot against Hitler http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/general-fromm-executed-for-plot-against-hitler 1953 – First Academy Awards telecast on NBC http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-academy-awards-telecast-on-nbc 1957…


No Picture

Today in history – March 18, 2018

1852 – Wells Fargo and Company established http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/wells-fargo-and-company-established 1911 – Irving Berlin copyrights the biggest pop song of the early 20th century http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/irving-berlin-copyrights-the-biggest-pop-song-of-the-early-20th-century 1925 –…


Today in history – March 17, 2018

461 – Saint Patrick dies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/saint-patrick-dies 1762 – First St. Patrick’s Day parade http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-st-patricks-day-parade 1901 – Van Gogh paintings shown http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/van-gogh-paintings-shown 1902 – Bobby Jones…


Today in history – March 16, 2018

1751 – “Father of the Constitution” is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/father-of-the-constitution-is-born 1802 – U.S. Military Academy established http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/u-s-military-academy-established 1850 – The Scarlet Letter is published http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-scarlet-letter-is-published 1926…



Today in history – March 15, 2018

1767 – Andrew Jackson is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/andrew-jackson-is-born 1941 -Blizzard unexpectedly hits North Dakota and Minnesota http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/blizzard-unexpectedly-hits-north-dakota-and-minnesota 1965 – Johnson calls for equal voting rights http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/johnson-calls-for-equal-voting-rights…