2020 Ed Doherty Award Week 3 Watch List Announced

Roster features 50 Arizona Prep Football Players including two from the Gila Valley.

PHOENIX, Ariz. – October 12, 2020 – The Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club (GCSGC) is pleased to release the 2020 Ed Doherty Award Week 3 Watch List™ for the current Arizona high school football season. Fifty (50) players from 35 high schools across the state were added to the Week 3 Watch List™ to potentially be awarded with an Ed Doherty Award Nomination Medallion™. Special eligibility provisions for the 2020 Week 3 Watch List™ have been adopted by the Ed Doherty Award Selection Committee due to the reduced competition schedule. For the 2020 season, consideration for the Week 3 Watch List is based on the performances during the first two weeks of the 2020 season.   

To be eligible to appear on the 2020 Week 3 Watch List™, a player must have participated during the first two weeks of the current season, recorded an exceptional performance and be in good academic standing. Each week, a Selection Committee made up of members of Arizona high school sports media will officially award nomination medallions to players across the state. The 2020 Ed Doherty Award winner will be selected at the Ed Doherty Award Luncheon on Jan. 9, 2020 at the Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch. 

“This year, the Ed Doherty Award Selection Committee had a rough time compiling the Week 3 Watch List™. Typically, the Week 3 Watch List™ is prepared with the combined performances of three full weeks of play. It is a watch list based on actual performances this year. It is not based on any expectation of performances based on last year”, said Rob Yowell, Selection Committee Chairman. “After two weeks of competition, there are a few names missing from the list of 50 players making up the Week 3 Watch List™. Some of the greatest players in Arizona simply haven’t played a game yet. I would expect to see many Ed Doherty Award nominees emerge once these teams work through their Covid-19 restrictions and take it to the fields on Fridays.” 

The 2020 Week 3 Watch List™ is as follows: 

Trey Brown Arcadia TE/LB SR 
Matt McLelland Arete Prep QB JR 
Earnest Greenwood Barry Goldwater RB SR 
PJ London Blue Ridge QB JR 
Jacob Cisneros Boulder Creek RB SR 
Bear Milichek Boulder Creek QB SR 
Caden Calloway Campo Verde RB SR 
Angel Flores Casa Grande QB JR 
Dane Christensen Casteel QB SR 
Brock Dieu Casteel OL SR 
Isaiah Newcombe Casteel WR  SR 
DJ Gleash Centennial DE SR 
Brandon Buckner Chandler LB/DE SR 
Kyion Graves Chandler WR/DB JR 
Mikey Keene Chandler QB JR 
Eli  Sanders Chandler RB SR 
Zach Bennett Coconino RB SR 
Jake Schmitt Corona del Sol LB SR 
Adryan Lara Desert Edge QB JR 
Steven Ortiz Jr Desert Edge DB SR 
Christian Johnson Greenway RB SR 
Zach Lewis Hamilton DB SR 
Nicco Marchiol Hamilton QB JR 
Cole Martin Hamilton DB SO 
Gage Dayley Highland QB SR 
Kai Milner Higley QB SR 
Will Haskell Ironwood QB SR 
Jax Stam Liberty DB JR 
Ty Thompson Mesquite QB SR 
Gavin Smith Notre Dame Prep WR/DB JR 
Brandon Craddock O’Connor LB JR 
Dane White Perry QB SR 
Devon Dampier Pinnacle QB SO 
Anthony Franklin Pinnacle DL SR 
Zion Burns Poston Butte RB SR 
Evan Lovett Pusch Ridge Academy ATH SR 
Devin Brown Queen Creek QB JR 
Isaia Glass Queen Creek OL SR 
Trey Reynolds Queen Creek LB SR 
Parker McClure Red Mountain LB JR 
George Ramirez Red Mountain ATH SR 
CJ Scrivner Safford RB SR 
Denzel Burke Saguaro WR/DB SR 
Quinton Sommerville Saguaro DL JR 
Bram Walden Saguaro OL SR 
Treyson Bourguet Salpointe QB JR 
Hunter Ogle Santa Cruz RB SR 
Jacob Thurman Shadow Ridge RB SR 
Jacob Ward Thatcher RB SR 
Kaden Cloud Williams Field RB JR 

To learn more about the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club, visit http://www.gcsgridiron.com/

About Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club 

The Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club is the steward of the Ed Doherty Award and is the most meaningful advocate of high school football in the State of Arizona. The mission of the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club is to represent Arizona amateur athletics by bringing national attention to the extraordinary qualities of our young people and serve in the pursuit of athletic achievement, academic advancement and greater social affinity. 

About the Ed Doherty Award  

For 34 years, the Ed Doherty Award has been the State of Arizona’s highest individual high school football honor and is awarded annually to the state’s most outstanding high school football player by the Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club. The Ed Doherty Award recognizes the player whose performance best exhibits the pursuit of excellence with integrity. The winner of the award epitomizes great ability combined with diligence, perseverance, and hard work. In addition to on-field performance, the Ed Doherty Award recognizes the well-rounded accomplishments of community involvement, school pride, and academics.