Today in History

Today in history – April 17, 2018

1790 – Benjamin Franklin dies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/benjamin-franklin-dies 1882 – Life of Billy the Kid arrives at Library of Congress http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/life-of-billy-the-kid-arrives-at-library-of-congress 1945 – Americans seize 1,100 tons…


Today in history – April 16, 2018

1889 – Charlie Chaplin born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/charlie-chaplin-born 1940 – Bob Feller throws no-hitter http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/bob-feller-throws-no-hitter 1943 – Hallucinogenic effects of LSD discovered http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/hallucinogenic-effects-of-lsd-discovered 1972 – Apollo 16…


Today in history – April 12, 2018

1914 – First movie “palace” opens http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-movie-palace-opens 1945 – President Franklin D. Roosevelt dies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/president-franklin-d-roosevelt-dies 1949 – Legal thriller writer Scott Turow is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/legal-thriller-writer-scott-turow-is-born…


Today in history – April 11, 2018

1888 – Henry Ford marries http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/henry-ford-marries 1945 – The U.S. army liberates Buchenwald concentration camp http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-u-s-army-liberates-buchenwald-concentration-camp 1961 – Bob Dylan plays his first major gig…


Today in history – April 10, 2018

1866 – ASPCA is founded http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/aspca-is-founded 1906 – The Gift of the Magi is published http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-gift-of-the-magi-is-published 1953 – First color 3-D film opens http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-color-3-d-film-opens 1963…


Today in history – April 9, 2018

1859 – Mark Twain receives steamboat pilot’s license http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/mark-twain-receives-steamboat-pilots-license 1865 – Robert E. Lee surrenders http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/robert-e-lee-surrenders 1947 – Tornado reduces Oklahoma town to rubble http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/tornado-reduces-oklahoma-town-to-rubble…


Today in history – April 6, 2018

1776 – Congress opens all U.S. ports to international trade http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/congress-opens-all-u-s-ports-to-international-trade 1830 – Mormon Church established http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/mormon-church-established 1853 – Emil Jellinek-Mercedes born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/emil-jellinek-mercedes-born 1896 –…


Today in history – April 5, 2018

1614 – Pocahontas marries John Rolfe http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/pocahontas-marries-john-rolfe 1792 – Washington exercises first presidential veto http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/washington-exercises-first-presidential-veto 1955 – Winston Churchill resigns http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/winston-churchill-resigns 1984 – Abdul-Jabbar breaks…


Today in history – April 4, 2018

1913 – Muddy Waters is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/muddy-waters-is-born 1933 – Man who took NASCAR mainstream is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/man-who-took-nascar-mainstream-is-born 1949 – NATO established http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/nato-established 1960 – Ben-Hur…


Today in history – April 3, 2018

1860 – Pony Express debuts http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/pony-express-debuts 1882 – Jesse James is murdered http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/jesse-james-is-murdered 1974 – Series of deadly twisters hits U.S. heartland http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/series-of-deadly-twisters-hits-u-s-heartland 1978 –…