Today in History

Today in history – March 11, 2018

1818 – Frankenstein published http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/frankenstein-published 1903 – Lawrence Welk is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/lawrence-welk-is-born 1918 – First cases reported in deadly influenza epidemic http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-cases-reported-in-deadly-influenza-epidemic 1997 – Paul…


Today in history – March 10, 2018

1926 – First Book-of-the-Month Club selection is published http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-book-of-the-month-club-selection-is-published 1969 – Ray pleads guilty to King assassination http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/ray-pleads-guilty-to-king-assassination 1988 – Disco sensation Andy Gibb dies…


Today in history – March 9, 2018

1916 – Pancho Villa raids U.S. http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/pancho-villa-raids-u-s 1959 – Barbie makes her debut http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/barbie-makes-her-debut 1981 – Japanese power plant leaks radioactive waste http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/japanese-power-plant-leaks-radioactive-waste 1985 –…


Today in history – March 8, 2018

1950 – VW bus, icon of counterculture movement, goes into production http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/vw-bus-icon-of-counterculture-movement-goes-into-production 1968 – Bill Graham’s rock empire goes bi-coastal as the Fillmore East opens…


Today in history – March 7, 2018

1876 – Alexander Graham Bell patents the telephone http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/alexander-graham-bell-patents-the-telephone 1938 – Janet Guthrie, first female Indy 500 driver, born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/janet-guthrie-first-female-indy-500-driver-born 1974 – Pearl Bailey and…


Today in history – March 6, 2018

1475 – Michelangelo born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/michelangelo-born 1947 – Rob Reiner born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/rob-reiner-born 1951 – The Rosenberg trial begins http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-rosenberg-trial-begins 1902 – Real Madrid founded http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/real-madrid-founded 1986…


Today in history – March 5, 2018

1770 – The Boston Massacre http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-boston-massacre 1946 – Churchill delivers Iron Curtain speech http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/churchill-delivers-iron-curtain-speech 1953 – Joseph Stalin dies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/joseph-stalin-dies 1963 – Hula-Hoop patented http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/hula-hoop…