Today in History

Today in history – August 9, 2018

1936 – Owens wins 4th gold medal http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/owens-wins-4th-gold-medal 1945 – Atomic bomb dropped on Nagasaki http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/atomic-bomb-dropped-on-nagasaki 1985 – Arthur Walker found guilty of spying for…


Today in history – August 8, 2018

1956 – Fire traps 262 miners http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/fire-traps-262-miners 1968 – Nixon and Agnew receive the Republican Party nomination http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/nixon-and-agnew-receive-the-republican-party-nomination 1974 – Nixon resigns http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/nixon-resigns 1986 –…


Today in history – August 7, 2018

1782 – Washington creates the Purple Heart http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/washington-creates-the-purple-heart 1959 – U.S. satellite photographs earth http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/u-s-satellite-photographs-earth 1990 – Bush orders Operation Desert Shield http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/bush-orders-operation-desert-shield 1997 –…


Today in history – August 6, 2018

1890 – First execution by electric chair http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-execution-by-electric-chair 1911 – Lucille Ball born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/lucille-ball-born 1926 – Gertrude Ederle becomes first woman to swim English Channel…


Today in history – August 5, 2018

1861 – Lincoln imposes first federal income tax http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/lincoln-imposes-first-federal-income-tax 1914 – First electric traffic signal installed http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-electric-traffic-signal-installed 1944 – Hundreds of Jews are freed from…


Today in history – August 4, 2018

1753 – Washington becomes Master Mason http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/washington-becomes-master-mason 1927 – Country legend Jimmie Rodgers is recorded for the very first time http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/country-legend-jimmie-rodgers-is-recorded-for-the-very-first-time 1936 – Jesse Owens…


Today in history – August 3, 2018

1492 – Columbus sets sail http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/columbus-sets-sail 1914 – Germany and France declare war on each other http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/germany-and-france-declare-war-on-each-other 1949 – NBA is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/nba-is-born 1958 –…


Today in history – August 2, 2018

1776 – Delegates sign Declaration of Independence http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/delegates-sign-declaration-of-independence 1934 – Hitler becomes fuhrer http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/hitler-becomes-fuhrer 1943 – Japanese forces attack PT boat with Kennedy on board…


Today in history – July 25, 2018

1832 – The first railroad accident http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-first-railroad-accident 1965 – Dylan goes electric at the Newport Folk Festival http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/dylan-goes-electric-at-the-newport-folk-festival 1978 – World’s First Test Tube Baby…


Today in history – July 23, 2018

 1967 – The Detroit Riots http://www.history.com/topics/1967-detroit-riots 1982 – Actor and two children killed on Twilight Zone set http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/actor-and-two-children-killed-on-twilight-zone-set 1984 – Miss America resigns http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/miss-america-resigns 1988…