Today in History

Today in history – June 23, 2018

1902 – “Mercedes” registered as a brand name http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/mercedes-registered-as-a-brand-name 1989 – Batman released http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/batman-released 1992 – Teflon Don sentenced to life http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/teflon-don-sentenced-to-life 2013 – Wallenda…


Today in history – June 22, 2018

1876 – General Santa Anna dies in Mexico City http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/general-santa-anna-dies-in-mexico-city 1944 – FDR signs G.I. Bill http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/fdr-signs-g-i-bill 1964 – Da Vinci Code author Dan Brown…


Today in history – June 21, 2018

1788 – U.S. Constitution ratified http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/u-s-constitution-ratified 1810 Zachary Taylor and Richard Nixon marry their future first ladies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/zachary-taylor-and-richard-nixon-marry-their-future-first-ladies 1892 – Lot Smith, Mormon soldier, is…


Today in history – June 11, 2018

1949 – Hank Williams, Sr., makes his Grand Ole Opry debut http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/hank-williams-sr-makes-his-grand-ole-opry-debut 1950 – Ben Hogan wins U.S. Open with courageous comeback http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/ben-hogan-wins-u-s-open-with-courageous-comeback 1963 –…


Today in history – June 10, 2018

1692 – First Salem witch hanging http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-salem-witch-hanging 1752 – Franklin flies kite during thunderstorm http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/franklin-flies-kite-during-thunderstorm 1885 – Arizona Deputy Sheriff Billy Daniels is killed http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/arizona-deputy-sheriff-billy-daniels-is-killed…


Today in history – June 9, 2018

1856 – Mormon handcart pioneers depart for Salt Lake City http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/mormon-handcart-pioneers-depart-for-salt-lake-city 1891 – Cole Porter is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/cole-porter-is-born 1972 – Flash flood hits Rapid City…


Today in history – June 8, 2018

1874 – Apache Chief Cochise dies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/apache-chief-cochise-dies 1945 – Truman issues order regarding release of classified scientific information http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/truman-issues-order-regarding-release-of-classified-scientific-information 1948 – First Porsche completed http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-porsche-completed…


Today in history – June 7, 2018

1893 – Gandhi’s first act of civil disobedience http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/gandhis-first-act-of-civil-disobedience 1962 – Switzerland welcomes first drive-through bank http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/switzerland-welcomes-first-drive-through-bank 1966 – Reagan nominated for governor of California…


Today in history – June 6, 2018

1933 – First drive-in movie theater opens http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-drive-in-movie-theater-opens 1944 – D-Day http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/d-day 1971 – The Ed Sullivan Show airs for the very last time http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-ed-sullivan-show-airs-for-the-very-last-time…


Today in history – June 5, 2018

1922 – Discoverer of Klondike Gold dies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/discoverer-of-klondike-gold-dies 1933 – FDR takes United States off gold standard http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/fdr-takes-united-states-off-gold-standard 1956 – Elvis rocks The Milton Berle…