Today in History

Today in history – August 30, 2018

1963 – Hotline established between Washington and Moscow http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/hotline-established-between-washington-and-moscow 1965 – Casey Stengel retires http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/casey-stengel-retires 1980 – Christopher Cross has his first of two #1…


Today in history – August 29, 2018

1914 – Women join British war effort http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/women-join-british-war-effort 1949 – Soviets explode atomic bomb http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/soviets-explode-atomic-bomb 1958 – Michael Jackson is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/michael-jackson-is-born 1982 – Actress…


Today in history – August 28, 2018

1877 – Charles S. Rolls born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/charles-s-rolls-born 1917 – President Woodrow Wilson picketed by women suffragists http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/president-woodrow-wilson-picketed-by-women-suffragists 1977 – Pele leads Cosmos to title http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/pele-leads-cosmos-to-title…


Today in history – August 27, 2018

1883 – Krakatoa erupts http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/krakatoa-erupts 1953 – Roman Holiday opens, featuring Hepburn’s first starring role http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/roman-holiday-opens-featuring-hepburns-first-starring-role 1955 – “The Guinness Book of Records” debuts http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-guinness-book-of-records-debuts…


Today in history – August 25, 2018

1835 – The Great Moon Hoax http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-great-moon-hoax 1939 – The Wizard of Oz debuts http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-wizard-of-oz-debuts 1962 – Little Eva earns a #1 hit with “Loco-Motion”…


Today in history – August 24, 2018

1873 – Elusive Mount of the Holy Cross photographed http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/elusive-mount-of-the-holy-cross-photographed 1875 – Captain Webb swims English Channel http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/captain-webb-swims-english-channel 1958 – Maria Teresa de Filippis races…


Today in history – August 23, 2018

1902 – Fannie Farmer opens cooking school http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/fannie-farmer-opens-cooking-school 1904 – Patent for tire chain issued http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/patent-for-tire-chain-issued 1970 – Lou Reed plays his last show with…


Today in history – August 22, 2018

1848 – Ulysses S. Grant marries http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/ulysses-s-grant-marries 1851 – U.S. wins first America’s Cup http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/u-s-wins-first-americas-cup 1864 – International Red Cross founded http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/international-red-cross-founded 1950 – Althea…


Today in history – August 21, 2018

1911 – Theft of Mona Lisa is discovered http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/theft-of-mona-lisa-is-discovered 1935 – The Swing Era begins with Benny Goodman’s triumphant Palomar Ballroom performance http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-swing-era-begins-with-benny-goodmans-triumphant-palomar-ballroom-performance 1944 –…


Today in history – August 20, 2018

1911 – First around-the-world telegram sent, 66 years before Voyager II launch http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-around-the-world-telegram-sent-66-years-before-voyager-ii-launch 1920 – Professional football is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/professional-football-is-born 1975 – Viking 1 launched…