Today in History

Today in history – May 7, 2018

1763 – Pontiac’s plot is foiled http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/pontiacs-plot-is-foiled 1789 – George Washington attends inaugural ball http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/george-washington-attends-inaugural-ball 1901 – Gary Cooper born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/gary-cooper-born 1902 – Volcanic eruption…


Today in history – May 6, 2018

1937 – Hindenburg explodes in New Jersey http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/hindenburg-explodes-in-new-jersey 1954 – Roger Bannister breaks four-minutes mile http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/roger-bannister-breaks-four-minutes-mile 1991 – Harry Gant is oldest NASCAR winner —…


Today in history – May 5, 2018

1821 – Napoleon dies in exile http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/napoleon-dies-in-exile 1904 – Cy Young throws perfect game http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/cy-young-throws-perfect-game 1961 – The first American in space http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-first-american-in-space 1985 –…


Today in history – May 4, 2018

1865 – Lincoln is buried in Springfield, Illinois http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/lincoln-is-buried-in-springfield-illinois 1886 – A riot breaks out in Haymarket Square http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/a-riot-breaks-out-in-haymarket-square 1929 – Audrey Hepburn born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/audrey-hepburn-born…


Today in history – May 3,2018

1933 – James Brown is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/james-brown-is-born 1942 – The Battle of the Coral Sea begins http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-battle-of-the-coral-sea-begins 1952 – Fletcher lands on the North Pole…


Today in history – May 2, 2018

1918 – GM buys Chevrolet http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/gm-buys-chevrolet 1933 – Loch Ness Monster sighted http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/loch-ness-monster-sighted 1957 – Joseph McCarthy dies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/joseph-mccarthy-dies 2001 – George W. Bush forms…


Today in history – May 1, 2018

1926 – Ford factory workers get 40-hour week http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/ford-factory-workers-get-40-hour-week 1931 – Empire State Building dedicated http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/empire-state-building-dedicated 1960 – American U-2 spy plane shot down http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/american-u-2-spy-plane-shot-down…


Today in history – April 30, 2018

1789 – George Washington gives first presidential inaugural address http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/george-washington-gives-first-presidential-inaugural-address 1927 – The first federal prison for women opens http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-first-federal-prison-for-women-opens 1939 – New York World’s…


Today in history – April 28, 2018

1758 – President Monroe is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/president-monroe-is-born 1915 – International Congress of Women opens at The Hague http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/international-congress-of-women-opens-at-the-hague 1945 – Mussolini is executed http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/mussolini-is-executed 1965…


Today in history – April 27,2018

1773 – Parliament passes the Tea Act http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/parliament-passes-the-tea-act 1822 – President Grant is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/president-grant-is-born 1956 – Rocky Marciano retires as world heavyweight champion http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/rocky-marciano-retires-as-world-heavyweight-champion…