Today in History

Today in history – September 10, 2018

1897 – First drunk driving arrest http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-drunk-driving-arrest 1962 – Rod Laver wins Grand Slam http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/rod-laver-wins-grand-slam 1976 – Jets collide over Zagreb http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/jets-collide-over-zagreb 1989 – Hungary…


Today in history – September 9, 2018

1776 – Congress renames the nation “United States of America” http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/congress-renames-the-nation-united-states-of-america 1893 – President’s child born in White House http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/presidents-child-born-in-white-house 1939 – Audiences are treated…


Today in history – September 8, 2018

1664 – New Amsterdam becomes New York http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/new-amsterdam-becomes-new-york 1974 – Ford pardons Nixon http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/ford-pardons-nixon 1986 – Nissan’s first European factory opens http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/nissans-first-european-factory-opens 1986 – Oprah…


Today in history – September 7,2018

1813 – United States nicknamed Uncle Sam http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/united-states-nicknamed-uncle-sam 1896 – Electric car wins the first auto race in the United States http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/electric-car-wins-the-first-auto-race-in-the-united-states 1911 – Guillaume…


Today in history – September 6, 2018

1901 – President William McKinley is shot http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/president-william-mckinley-is-shot 1915 – First tank produced http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-tank-produced 1995 – Ripken breaks record for consecutive games played http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/ripken-breaks-record-for-consecutive-games-played 1997…


Today in history – September 5, 2018

1774 – First session of Continental Congress convenes http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-session-of-continental-congress-convenes 1847 – Outlaw Jesse James is born in Missouri http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/outlaw-jesse-james-is-born-in-missouri 1958 – Pasternak’s Dr. Zhivago appears…


Today in history – September 4, 2018

1886 – Geronimo surrenders http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/geronimo-surrenders 1957 – Edsel arrives in showrooms at last http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/edsel-arrives-in-showrooms-at-last 1972 – Spitz wins 7th gold medal http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/spitz-wins-7th-gold-medal 1982 – “Valley…


Today in history – September 2, 2018

1789 – Congress founds U.S. Treasury http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/congress-founds-u-s-treasury 1959 – Ford introduces the compact, fuel-efficient Falcon http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/ford-introduces-the-compact-fuel-efficient-falcon 1969 – First ATM opens for business http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-atm-opens-for-business 1973…


Today in history – September 1, 2018

1836 – First Anglo women settle west of the Rockies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-anglo-women-settle-west-of-the-rockies 1850 – P.T. Barnum brings Jenny Lind to New York http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/p-t-barnum-brings-jenny-lind-to-new-york 1964 – First…


Today in history – August 31, 2018

1886 – Earthquake shakes Charleston, South Carolina http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/earthquake-shakes-charleston-south-carolina 1949 – Actor Richard Gere born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/actor-richard-gere-born 1959 – Sandy Koufax strikes out 18 http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/sandy-koufax-strikes-out-18 1985 –…