Today in History

Today in history – April 30, 2018

1789 – George Washington gives first presidential inaugural address http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/george-washington-gives-first-presidential-inaugural-address 1927 – The first federal prison for women opens http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-first-federal-prison-for-women-opens 1939 – New York World’s…


Today in history – April 28, 2018

1758 – President Monroe is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/president-monroe-is-born 1915 – International Congress of Women opens at The Hague http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/international-congress-of-women-opens-at-the-hague 1945 – Mussolini is executed http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/mussolini-is-executed 1965…


Today in history – April 27,2018

1773 – Parliament passes the Tea Act http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/parliament-passes-the-tea-act 1822 – President Grant is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/president-grant-is-born 1956 – Rocky Marciano retires as world heavyweight champion http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/rocky-marciano-retires-as-world-heavyweight-champion…


Today in history – April 26, 2018

1865 – Lincoln assassin John Wilkes Booth dies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/lincoln-assassin-john-wilkes-booth-dies 1954 – Polio vaccine trials begin http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/polio-vaccine-trials-begin 1986 – Maria Shriver marries Arnold Schwarzenegger http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/maria-shriver-marries-arnold-schwarzenegger 1986…


Today in history – April 25, 2018

1964 – Maple Leafs win third Stanley Cup in a row http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/maple-leafs-win-third-stanley-cup-in-a-row 1983 – Andropov writes to U.S. student http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/andropov-writes-to-u-s-student 1990 – Space telescope in…


Today in history – April 24, 2018

1800 – Library of Congress established http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/library-of-congress-established 1863 – Union issues conduct code for soldiers http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/union-issues-conduct-code-for-soldiers 1908 – Tornado flattens towns in Louisiana and Mississippi…


Today in history – April 23, 2018

1564 – William Shakespeare born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/william-shakespeare-born 1954 – Hank Aaron hits first home run of his MLB career http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/hank-aaron-hits-first-home-run-of-his-mlb-career 1961 – Judy Garland plays Carnegie…


Today in history – April 22, 2018

1933 – Rolls-Royce co-founder dies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/rolls-royce-co-founder-dies 1937 – Jack Nicholson born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/jack-nicholson-born 1945 – Hitler admits defeat http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/hitler-admits-defeat 1970 – The first Earth Day http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-first-earth-day…


Today in history – April 21, 2018

1865 – Lincoln’s funeral train leaves D.C. http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/lincolns-funeral-train-leaves-d-c 1895 – First movie projector demonstrated in United States http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-movie-projector-demonstrated-in-united-states 1967 – GM celebrates 100 millionth U.S.-made…


Today in history – April 20, 2018

1841 – First detective story is published http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/first-detective-story-is-published 1926 – New sound process for films announced http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/new-sound-process-for-films-announced 1986 – Jordan scores 63 points in playoff…