Articles by GVC Staff

Today in history – July 2, 2018

1776 – Congress votes for independence http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/congress-votes-for-independence 1881 – President Garfield is shot http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/president-garfield-is-shot 1937 – Amelia Earhart disappears http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/amelia-earhart-disappears 1977 – “Gonna Fly Now…


Today in history – July 1, 2018

1863 – The Battle of Gettysburg begins http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-battle-of-gettysburg-begins 1916 – Dwight D. Eisenhower marries “his Mamie” http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/dwight-d-eisenhower-marries-his-mamie 1951 – Feller hurls third no-hitter http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/feller-hurls-third-no-hitter 1979…


Today in history – June 30, 2018

1859 – Daredevil crosses Niagara Falls on tightrope http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/daredevil-crosses-niagara-falls-on-tightrope 1962 – Sandy Koufax pitches first no-hitter http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/sandy-koufax-pitches-first-no-hitter 1971 – Soviet cosmonauts perish in reentry disaster…


Today in history – June 29, 2018

1613 – The Globe Theater burns down http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-globe-theater-burns-down 1958 – Pele helps Brazil to World Cup title http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/pele-helps-brazil-to-world-cup-title 1972 – Supreme Court strikes down death…




Today in history – June 28, 2018

1836 – Former President James Madison dies http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/former-president-james-madison-dies 1928 – Louis Armstrong records “West End Blues” http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/louis-armstrong-records-west-end-blues 1953 – Workers assemble first Corvette in Flint,…


Today in history – June 27, 2018

1844 – Mormon leader killed by mob http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/mormon-leader-killed-by-mob 1939 – “Frankly, My Dear…” http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/frankly-my-dear 1968 – Elvis Presley tapes his famous TV “comeback special” http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/elvis-presley-tapes-his-famous-tv-comeback-special…


Today in history – June 23, 2018

1902 – “Mercedes” registered as a brand name http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/mercedes-registered-as-a-brand-name 1989 – Batman released http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/batman-released 1992 – Teflon Don sentenced to life http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/teflon-don-sentenced-to-life 2013 – Wallenda…