Articles by GVC Staff




Today in history – September 18, 2018

1793 – Capitol cornerstone is laid https://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/capitol-cornerstone-is-laid 1973 – Carter files report on UFO sighting https://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/carter-files-report-on-ufo-sighting  1974 -Doris Day wins lawsuit https://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/doris-day-wins-lawsuit 1981 – Canada…


Today in history – September 17, 2018

1923 –  Fire threatens U.C. Berkeley https://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/fire-threatens-u-c-berkeley  1957 –  Louis Armstrong cancels trip to Russia https://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/louis-armstrong-cancels-trip-to-russia 1976 –  Space Shuttle unveiled https://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/space-shuttle-unveiled 1983 –  Vanessa…


Today in history – September 16, 2018

1620 – Mayflower departs England http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/mayflower-departs-england  1893  – Settlers race to claim land https://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/settlers-race-to-claim-land  1810 –  Mexican War of Independence begins https://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/mexican-war-of-independence-begins 1940  – United…


Today in history – September 15, 2018

1858 – The first transcontinental mail service to San Francisco begins http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/the-first-transcontinental-mail-service-to-san-francisco-begins 1890 – Agatha Christie is born http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/agatha-christie-is-born 1954 – Famous Marilyn Monroe “skirt”…




Today in history – September 14, 2018

1955 – Little Richard records “Tutti Frutti” http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/little-richard-records-tutti-frutti 1959 = Soviet probe reaches the moon http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history/soviet-probe-reaches-the-moon 1982 – Hollywood star and real-life princess Grace Kelly…